Painting Steel

sandra

Painting Steel

Post by sandra »

Question

In the book you mention a zinc based primer which is not that hard to find.
but for the color you mention a Oil Based Paint.

are you talking a spray can type paint or is this a brush on paint?
can you give an idea of brands of paint to either use or avoid?

Thank you
Sandra
cncmazing

Post by cncmazing »

I dont have much experience painting metal either. I would like to know as well
msimpson
Site Admin

Post by msimpson »

As long as it is oil based it does not matter.

The primer I used was spray based. For the paint I used rustolium and it was brushed based.

Some things to keep in mind.
The longer the paint sets, the harder the finish. The better you clean your steel the better the paint will stick to the steel.

Im not an expert metal painter by no means. The KRMx02 was the firt time I ever painted metal in my life. I just did some research and went for it.

Dont freak out if you nick or chip the paint. It is going to happen. Just touch it up. You should see my litttle demo machine, it is all banged up and chipped after each outing. I just touchup.
msimpson
Site Admin

Post by msimpson »

Be sure to check out this video as well
Painting Steel
alamorobotics

Post by alamorobotics »

That is a great video, specially since I'm getting ready to paint my 3x3 angles tomorrow.

I asked for a Zinc based primer at Home Depot and they showed me "Cold Galvanizing Compound" from Rust-Oleum which make sense so I bought a couple of cans. The can is very heavy for it's size by the way.

For the paint I got Sunburst Yellow, "Gloss Protective Enamel" from Rust-Oleum, however I forgot to ask if the paint is oil-based.
Reading the label say to use mineral spirits for cleanup so I guess it is.

Looking forward to start painting tomorrow.
msimpson
Site Admin

Post by msimpson »